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Questions From Competitors Regarding 
The Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions 

 
Question #1:  From Mr. Bob Gunion: “I don’t see anything in the SIs about a restricted start/finish 
line.  Can racers pass through the line when already on the course?” 
 
Response from the Race Committee:  The Race Committee has not restricted the Start/Finish line other 
than as called out in Sailing Instruction 10.2. 
 
Question #2:  From Mr. Chris Boome:  
 
“RE: 8.4 Do we need a clarification of "missing"?  Suppose the port gate mark has obviously drifted out of 
position by a good distance, let's say a quarter mile.  If it is "missing", we would round the starboard gate to 
port. If it is not "missing" we would round the starboard gate to starboard. This could be very confusing.” 
 
Response from the Race Committee:  The Race Committee will make every attempt to replace a missing 
mark as instructed in the Rules.  Unfortunately, there are situations in which there maybe ambiguity about 
precisely when a mark is “missing” and when it is not.   The Race Committee cannot define “missing” 
exactly enough to remove all ambiguity. 


