

NOTICE OF RACE

Buzzards Yacht Club PHRF Race (2018 Buzzards Bay Trophy Series)

August 18, 2018

Wings Neck, Pocasset, Massachusetts 02559

1. Rules

- 1.1. The series will be governed by the rules as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-2020*.
- 1.2. For the purposes of defining the zone for mark room, this series will use three boat lengths.
- 1.3. PHRF NE class rules will also apply.

2. Eligibility and Entry

- 2.1. The Race is open to all members of the Buzzards YC, Beverly YC, New Bedford YC, Mattapoisett YC and Quissett YC and any others (including Old Sigh Racing Series participants).
- 2.2. Entry cost will be \$50 per boat.
- 2.3. The Race is open to all boats with a valid 2018 PHRF certificate and a rating of no greater than 225. Consult the NE PHRF site (http://www.phrfne.org).
- 2.4. Entry information is available on the Buzzards Yacht Club website (www..buzzardsyc.org). Go to Racing then Registrations. All registration and payment will be done online with the Buzzards Regatta Network website
- 2.5. Entries can be made online up to 24 hours prior to the start of the race.

3. Scoring

- 3.1.1. Unless specified by the Race Committee, races will be sailed in two divisions, Racing/Spinnaker Class and Cruising/Non Spinnaker Class. Racing Class: Use of an asymmetrical spinnaker as per PHRF-NE By-Laws. Cruising Class: Use of any type of spinnaker (incl. "cruising" spinnakers), double headed headsail combinations (luffs attached to the forestay), or mizzen staysails are not permitted.
- 3.2. If the racing is cancelled for any day, the cancelled race will not be rescheduled.
- 3.3. Races results for each division will be based on time on distance allowances and declared PHRF handicaps.
- 3.4. Keeper trophies and Buzzards race pennants will be awarded to the top 2 finishers (if 5 boats or less) or top 3 finishers (if more than 5 boats) in each class.
- 3.5. Race results for each division will be posted on the Buzzards Yacht Club website (www.buzzardsyc.org)

4. Schedule of Events

4.1. The following schedule applies for each day of racing:

930	Course and Scratch Sheet will be emailed to the registered racers
1130	Committee Boat on station
1130-1150	Mandatory check in with RC (by hail or CH 78)
1130-1150	Course available from RC on course board or CH 78
1155	Warning signal

5. Equipment

5.1. All competitors are encouraged to wear a PFD throughout the race.

6. Sailing Instructions

- 6.1. Sailing Instructions will be available on the Regatta Networks Registration Site and Buzzards Yacht Club website, (www.buzzardsyc.org).
- 6.2. A limited number of sailing instructions may be available from the Committee Boat.

7. Race Area and Courses

- 7.1. Races will be start and finish off Scraggy Neck and Wings Neck.
- 7.2. Marks will be identified on the Buzzards PHRF Course Chart.
- 7.3. Course Chart and Sailing Instructions will be posted on the Regatta Networks Registration Site

8. Post Race Rafting Party

8.1 Post race rafting party may be in the Mill Pond anchorage or at another location as designated by the Race Committee

9. Buzzards Bay PHRF Trophy (awarded by Buzzards Bay Trophy Executive Committee in 2018)

9.1 The Buzzards Bay PHRF Trophy is awarded to any Buzzards Bay PHRF rating system sailboat which has the best combined score in four of the following six races: Mattapoisett Spring Round the Bay Race, NBYC Whalers Race. BYC Parker Converse Tower Race, Buzzards Yacht Club PHRF Race, QYC Round the Bay Race, BYC Hurricane Cup.

A boat must race in at least four of the six races to be eligible for the prize and must have a valid rating certificate for each race in which it competes. Each boat's race score shall be her finish position score divided by the number of boats that start in her division. Each boat's series score shall be the total of her four lowest race scores. The lowest total points wins. Boats may choose to sail in either cruising division or racing division for each race they enter. The lowest aggregate score will be used. A perpetual trophy will be awarded along with the Buzzards Bay Trophy. The perpetual trophy will be adorned with the burgee of each participating club.