Notice of Series 2012 Wahine Racing Series

1. ELIGIBILITY

All regattas in the 2012 Wahine Racing Series are open to any wahine skipper. Skippers shall meet the wahine skipper requirements (below) to be eligible for the North Sails Wahine Skipper of the Year Trophy.

2. REGATTAS

The 2012 Series is comprised of 5 regattas. Skippers shall register & compete in at least 2 of the regattas to be eligible for the Trophy. *Note changes from the HYRA calendar.

March 31, 2012 - Capri 18's Regatta (PHYC), 3 race event
April 29, 2012 - Cal 20's Regatta (KYC), 3 race event
July 8, 2012 - IRF D-1 Regatta (KYC), 3 race event

August 4, 2012 - Pau Big Boat Wahine Regatta (WYC), 2 race event

August 18, 2012 - Catalina 14's Regatta (PYC), 3 race event

3. SKIPPER/CREW REQUIREMENTS

- The skipper (not crew) shall be a member in good standing of any HYRA member club in order to be eligible for the North Sails Wahine Skipper of the Year Trophy. A list of HYRA member clubs can be found at www.hyra.us.
- A wahine must be at the helm at all times. No male is allowed to touch the helm while racing.
- US Sailing membership is encouraged, but not required.
- For the KYC IRF Race and the HYC Pau Big Boat Race, your crew shall be at least 50% female or consist of at least 4 females, whichever number is lower. More females are preferred but not required.
- For the Capri 18's and Catalina 14's, the skipper and crew shall be female only.
- For the Cal 20's, the skipper shall be female, 1 male crew is allowed.

4. FEES

\$5 will be added to each yacht club's regatta fees to cover trophy expenses, recognition gifts, year- end celebration, etc.

5. SCORING

- The low point system of the Racing Rules of Sailing, Appendix A, shall apply. 14 races total.
- A minimum of six races is required to be eligible for the North Sails Wahine Skipper of the Year Trophy. Skippers must sail 50% of the races to qualify for 30% throw outs (rounded down to the nearest whole number).
- Each race is scored individually. DNC will be scored as largest fleet entered in any regatta during the series, plus 1.

6. TROPHIES

North Sails Wahine Skipper of the Year Trophy will be awarded at the HYRA Awards Banquet, scheduled for November 17, 2012.

7. FURTHER INFORMATION

Additional information and points of contact can be found at www.hyra.us.