

KHYC 2014 SPINNAKER SERIES

Revised 01/22/14 modified throw outs and qualifying races

A series of (6) PHRF race events hosted by KHYC. The series is a qualifier for the ASMBYC Championships and (4) of the (6) are also ASMBYC High Point races. Race 4 is also the first race of the Quantum Sails Around the Point Series.

DIVISIONS: PHRF Area B buoy handicaps are used to establish classes of approximately even size. Class assignment then applies for the entire series. Handicaps used for scoring vary according to the race format.

ENTRIES: Spinnaker classes are open to members of SCYA affiliated Yacht Clubs or Associations who hold a current PHRF rating certificate. Those skippers may be required to show their current certificate. Registration may be made by mail received at least one day prior to the race date, at the club or through the Regatta Network web site 'http://www.regattanetwork.com'. The entry fee is \$20.00 for each individual race, with a \$3 early discount before race day, or \$90.00 for the entire series. Multihulls, Martin 242's, Vipers and other one design classes are welcome. Three or more boats will constitute a class.

RULES: This series will be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing, the USSA Prescriptions and the Sailing Instructions issued by KHYC for each race. The Notice of Race and the Sailing Instructions will be available at the club on race day and on the Regatta Network web site 'http://www.regattanetwork.com' or on the water from the R/C boat for PRE-REGISTERED racers from other harbors.

SCORING: The USSA low point scoring system will apply except that scoring for DNS, DSQ, etc. will be based on the number of starters in each race. Each race will be scored separately toward the lowest series total for 6 races with **two throw outs**. Boats must sail 3 race events to qualify for series awards and be a PHRF member to qualify for perpetual trophies.

TROPHIES: There will be individual take home trophies for each event and participation trophies for skippers who race all 6 events. Perpetual trophies for each race, as noted in the Sailing Instructions will be awarded to the PHRF member winner during the annual race awards event. The "Bob Hight Memorial" Perpetual Trophy for Class A and "The Spinnaker" Perpetual Trophy for Class B are awarded to the overall series winners.

HOSPITALITY: Participants are welcome to use the clubhouse, overnight guest dock and hoist (6000 lbs. Max) in conjunction with each race. Refreshments are offered after the races.

Race Chair: David Doeh	truebluem242@aol.com	(310)721-1758
Assistant Race Chair: Jennifer Pszyblylski	jenn2273@comcast.net	(847) 309-1077
KHYC Office:(310) 376-2459		(310) 374-5848

KHYC 2014 SPINNAKER SERIES

Individual Race Descriptions

No. 1 - Stoney Special, Saturday, February 8th

A race of approximately 11.7 NM using KHYC marks. A Category 4 event, Random Leg Ratings apply with TOT scoring.

No. 2 - Trans Harbor, Saturday March 22nd

A race of approximately 21.8 NM using KHYC marks and race marks off of Marina del Rey. A category 4 event. RLC ratings will apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race.

No. 3 - Malibu and Return, Saturday May 17th

A race of about 35.5 NM across Santa Monica Bay to a mark near the Malibu Pier and return. A Category 3 event, RLC ratings apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race.

No. 4 - Cabrillo Beach, Saturday June 2nd

A race of about 18 NM from King Harbor to Cabrillo Beach via Angels Gate. A category 3 event. OWC ratings will apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race. This is also the first race of the Quantum Sails Around the Point Series.

No. 5 - Matt Walsh, Saturday August 9th

A single multiple leg race of approximately 12.4 NM using both KHYC marks and PV10. A Category 4 event, RLC ratings apply with TOT scoring.

No. 6 - Windward-Leeward Race, Saturday September 27th

Three races, between about 2 and 7 NM each, starting at "S" mark and finishing at "S" mark . It will be windward and leeward racing. A leeward gate may be used. A category 4 event, Buoy ratings apply with TOT scoring. An ASMBYC High Point Race.

Perpetual Trophies for this series:

Stoney Special: Marold Eyestone Perpetual PHRF A & B Trans Harbor (2nd longest race): Fisherman's Race Perpetual - (PHRF A), Jimmie Morris Perpetual (PHRF B) Malibu and Return (longest race): Lobsterhouse Perpetual - (PHRF A), Brin Owen Perpetual (PHRF B) Cabrillo Beach Race: H.A Simms Perpetual PHRF A & B Matt Walsh: Matt Walsh Perpetual PHRF A & B Windward-Leeward (Shortest Race): Mayor's Perpetual PHRF A & B Overall Perpetuals: Bob Hight Memorial (PHRF A), Spinnaker Perpetual (PHRF B)

