

BLACK ROCK HARBOR WEDNESDAY NIGHT SERIES



NOTICE OF RACE

May 13, 2015 - September 9, 2015

Organized by Black Rock Y.C. and Fayerweather Y.C. Black Rock, Connecticut

1 Rules

The races will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing*(RRS) 2013 – 2016, and the current PHRF Regulations as adopted and amended by the YRA of LIS.

2 Eligibility and Entry

- 2.1 Any sailboat, from any port, having a valid PHRF rating issued by the YRA of LIS, is eligible to compete.
- 2.2 All boats must enter the Series on line and by paying an entry fee of \$50. Boats planning to sail in only some of the scheduled races must still submit an entry form and entry fee. Only boats which have completed the registration requirements will be scored. Late entries may only be accepted at the discretion of the organizing authority. Entry forms are available on-line at the Fayerweather Yacht Club website.
- 2.3 Crew weight limits, and crew weight credits will not apply.

3 Schedule

- 3.1 The Series will consist of one race for every Wednesday night for each of four divisions from May 13, 2015 September 9, 2015.
- 3.2 The first warning signal is scheduled for 1850 hours from May 13 through August 13. On August 20 and thereafter, the first warning signal is scheduled for 1830 hours.

4 Sailing Instructions & Division Assignments

- 4.1 The Sailing Instructions and scratch sheets will be available at Regatta network.
- 4.2 Division assignments are
- Division 1 Spinnaker boats with a PHRF rating under 100
- Division 2 Spinnaker boats with a PHRF rating over 100
- Division 3 JAM (Jib and Main) boats with PHRF ratings 159 or lower
- Division 4 JAM (Jib and Main) boats with PHRF ratings 160 or higher
- Division assignments may be altered at the discretion of the organizing authority.

5 Penalty System

Rule 44.2 is changed to require one full turn instead of two.

6 Scoring

- 6.1 The Low-Point Scoring System in RRS Appendix A will apply, except that Rule A2 is changed to exclude the worst scores for each boat for all races in excess of 60% of the total number of races in the series. At least one race must be completed to constitute the Series.
- 6.2 YRA of LIS, PHRF "time on time" scoring procedure will be used. TCF=650/ (550+PHRF)
- 6.3 For the purpose of calculating 60% of the total 18 races will be multiplied by .6 and rounded upward.
- 6.4 A boat serving as Race Committee will be scored as having competed in that race, and will be assigned a score equal to her average for **all** races sailed in the series. Rounded to the nearest, whole number (.5to be rounded upward)

7 Trophies

- 7.1 The first, second, and third place winners of the Series in each Division will be awarded "Black Rock Harbor Wednesday Night Series" trophies at the awards night held at Fayerweather Yacht Club on November 7, 2015.
- 7.1 To be eligible for trophies, a boat must submit a current 2015, PHRF certificate Issued by the YRA of LIS, no later than August 30, 2015.
- 7.2 Black Rock Yacht Club may also award trophies for their member's top finishing boats that participated in the Series. The trophies are awarded at an awards night held at Black Rock Yacht Club. Boats wishing to compete for these awards must indicate their intention to "BRYC" yachting chairman Mike Cooleen. To be eligible, a boat must be at least co-owned by a Black Rock Yacht Club member. Black Rock Yacht Club or Fayerweather Yacht Club may also award additional trophies at their discretion.

8 Contacts

FYC: Mike Sullivan C: 203-521-8015 BRYC: Mike Cooleen: 203-246-9491