

AYC Free State Team Race July 8-9, 2017

Organizing Authority: Annapolis Yacht Club, Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Website: http://www.annapolisyc.com/racing/regattas



NOTICE OF RACE

The notation '[DP]' in a rule in this NoR means that the penalty for a breach of that rule may, at the discretion of the protest committee, be less than disqualification.

1 RULES

- 1.1 The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).
- 1.2 RRS Appendix D Team Racing will apply.
- 1.3 The ICSA Collegiate Dinghy Class Rules will apply.
- 1.4 [DP] RRS 40 is replaced with: Competitors shall wear USCG approved Type III Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs) at all times while afloat except for brief periods while removing or adding clothing. Inflatable type PFDs are not permitted.
- 1.5 Competitors shall not take or use alcoholic beverages or illegal drugs aboard the boats. Breaking this rule will be considered misconduct and subject to action under RRS 69.

2 SUPPLIED BOATS

The regatta will be sailed in Club 420 type or similar sailboats provided by the organizing authority (OA).

3 ELIGIBILITY

- 3.1 The regatta is open to the first 12 teams to submit entries for all team members. A team is not considered registered until all six team members have submitted their entry forms and paid their entry fees.
- 3.2 Additional teams, up to a maximum of 14 may be accepted at the discretion of OA.

4 FEES AND ENTRY

- 4.1 Registration and entry fee of \$175 per boat are due by 1700 on July 4, 2017. Entry fees paid before 1700 on June 20, 2017 will receive a \$25 discount. Entry fees are payable in full upon registering and are non-refundable.
- 4.2 A damage deposit of \$500.00 per team shall be secured by credit card at check-in. This damage deposit amount does not limit the liability of a competitor for damage to supplied equipment.
- 4.3 The entry fee includes, at a minimum, racing, supplied boats, cookout/casual dinner and awards. Additional details will be included on the event website or the sailing instructions.
- 4.4 Boats wishing to enter shall register on line at: http://www.annapolisyc.com/default.aspx?p=.NETE ventView&ID=3768671&ssid=307802
- 4.5 To be considered an entry in the regatta, a team shall complete all registration, check-in, and pay all fees.

5 SCHEDULE AND FORMAT

5.1 Onsite check-in will be 0900-1000 on July 8.

- 5.2 A daily briefing will be held at 1000 each morning.
- 5.3 The first warning signal each day is scheduled for 1030.
- 5.4 The regatta format will be determined by the OA based on the number of teams and racing conditions. Possible formats may include round robins for all teams or groups of teams, and a knock-out series for some teams.
- 5.5 No new round of racing will be started after 1530 on the last day of the regatta.

6 SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The sailing instructions will be available on the event website by 1700 on June 8, 2017.

7 VENUE

- 7.1 The racing area will be the Severn River off Spa Creek.
- 7.2 The regatta venue will be the AYC Sailing Center, 550 Severn Avenue, Annapolis, MD 21403.

8 THE COURSES

The courses to be sailed will be a "digital N" or box course.

9 SCORING

Scoring will be in accordance with RRS Appendix D, except as modified by the sailing instructions.

10 COMMUNICATIONS

The official notice board will be located electronically on the event website.

11 PRIZES

- 11.1 Prizes will be given for top 3 places in the regatta.
- 11.2 Additional prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the organizing authority.

12 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

13 FURTHER INFORMATION

- 13.1 Non-AYC members may organize guest cards at the front desk of the AYC Clubhouse (12 Dock Street).
- 13.2 For more information contact:

AYC Regatta Manager: Linda Ambrose, lambrose@annapolisyc.org, 410.858.4964 Event Chair: Jake Doyle, jacob.c.doyle@navy.mil