



BLACK ROCK HARBOR WEDNESDAY NIGHT SERIES NOTICE OF RACE

May 9, 2017 - September 12, 2018

Organized by Black Rock Y.C. and Fayerweather Y.C. Black Rock, Connecticut

1 Rules

The races will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing*(RRS) 2017 – 2020, and the current PHRF Regulations as adopted and amended by the YRA of LIS.

2 Eligibility and Entry

- 2.1 Any sailboat, from any port, having a valid PHRF rating issued by the YRA of LIS, is eligible to compete.
- 2.2 All boats must enter the Series online and pay an entry fee of \$100. Only boats which have completed the registration requirements will be scored. Late entries may only be accepted at the discretion of the organizing authority. [Click Here to get to Regatta Network].

3 Schedule

3.1 The Series shall be comprised of the Spring Series and Fall Series. The two series shall be comprised of one race for every Wednesday night" except July 4th " for each of the four divisions as follows:

Spring Series: May 9 to July 11, 2018 Fall Series: July 18 to September 12, 2018

3.2 The first warning signal is scheduled for 1850 hours from May 11 through August 8, 2018. On August 15, 2018 and thereafter, the first warning signal is scheduled for 1830 hours.

4 Sailing Instructions & Division Assignments

- 4.1 The Sailing Instructions and scratch sheets will be available at http://www.regattanetwork.com/event/15925.
- 4.2 Fleet shall be comprised of up to 4 divisions with at least 3 boats in each. Boats shall designate which division they will compete in, as long as it complies with rating parameters below. Division assignments are as follows:

Division 1 - Spinnaker boats with a PHRF rating under 130

Division 2 - Spinnaker boats with a PHRF rating over 100

Division 3 – Non-Spinnaker boats PHRF rating under 160

Division 4 – Non-Spinnaker boats PHRF rating over 130

5 Penalty System

Rule 44.2 is changed to require one full turn instead of two.

6 Scoring

- 6.1 The Low-Point Scoring System in RRS Appendix A will apply, except that Rule A2 is changed to exclude the worst scores for each boat for all races in excess of 60% of the total number of races in the series. At least one race must be completed to constitute the Series.
- 6.2 YRA of LIS, PHRF "time on time" scoring procedure will be used. TCF=650/ (550+PHRF)
- 6.3 For the purpose of calculating 60% of the total 18 races will be multiplied by .6 and rounded upward.
- 6.4 A boat serving as Race Committee, and not competing during a specific week, will be scored as having competed in that race, and will be assigned a score equal to her average for **all** races sailed in the series. Rounded to the nearest, whole number (0.5 to be rounded upward)

7 Trophies

- 7.1 Seasonal and series trophies shall be awarded on November 3, 2018 at Fayerweather Yacht Club. Top three finishes shall be awarded for divisions that have more than five registered competitors that have sailed at least one race. Top two finishes shall be awarded for divisions with that have four or five competitors that have sailed at least one race. First place shall be awarded for divisions with three competitors that have sailed at least one race.
- 7.1 To be eligible for trophies, a boat must submit a 2018 PHRF certificate issued by the YRA of LIS, no later than the earlier of the 1st race they participate in or June, 2018. PHRF certificates should be submitted to Yachting@blackrockyc.org. All competitors shall comply fully with the requirements of their PHRF certificates and the sailing instructions for this series.

8 Contacts

FYC: Mike Sullivan (203) 521-8015

BRYC: Gardner Horan (646) 425-5755 yachting@blackrockyc.org