

2020 Egmont Key Race

Suncoast Boat of the Year and Davis Island Yacht Club Boat of the Year Event

Davis Island Yacht Club, Tampa, Florida November 14th, 2020

NOTICE OF RACE

Egmont Key Race dates back to 1935 and is the oldest running sailboat race on the west coast of Florida. It was created as a warm-up race for the Havana Race. The 65 mile long course takes racers around the key and back to DIYC. We also offer a 50 mile short course that stays inside the key for cruising and small spinnaker boats. The winner of the long course is awarded the perpetual Houston Wall Trophy.

1 RULES

- 1.1 The regatta will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing* including Appendix V2 (post-race penalty).
- 1.2 US Sailing prescriptions to RRS 63.2 and 63.4 will not apply.

2 ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 2.1 The regatta is open to all boats with a valid WFPHRF certificate, or a temporary rating assigned by the DIYC Club Measurer.
- 2.2 Expected Divisions are Spinnaker, Racer-Cruiser, Cruising, and Multihull.
- 2.3 Under West Florida PHRF rules, this is a Category 2 event for the Long Course and Category 3 for the Short Course.
- 2.4 Cruising spinnakers are permitted for the Cruising Division. All Cruising boats intending to use a cruising spinnaker must declare so by email to fleetcaptain@divc.org at least two days prior to the event
- 2.5 Boats shall enter on-line at https://www.regattanetwork.com/event/21351 or by following the link from the DIYC Calendar page.
- 2.6 Registration closes at 2200 on November 13. Late entries may be accepted at the sole discretion of the Organizing Authority.

3 FEES

3.1 All boats: \$30.00 plus tax. (Note because of CV-19, we will not have any social. Each Skipper will receive an Egmont Key logo hat with entry.)

4 SCHEDULE

Friday 1800	Competitors meeting (anticipate a Zoom call - details in Sailing Instructions)
Saturday	Check-in with Race Committee on water prior to warning signal

1000 First warning signal – Long course
 1030 First warning signal – Short course

TBD Awards ceremony (depending on CV-19) Please refer to Sailing instructions

5 SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The sailing instructions will be available on the DIYC website a minimum of 24 hours prior to start.

6 VENUE AND COURSE

- 6.1 The racing area will be Hillsborough Bay, Tampa Bay, and the Gulf of Mexico west of Egmont Key.
- 6.2 Distance course 1 race is scheduled for all Divisions. Long Course rounds Egmont Key and a Short Course that turns around at SW3 (inside Egmont Key).

7 PENALTY SYSTEM

- 7.1 All Divisions will use the Scoring Penalty of RRS 44.3.
- 7.2 The 30% Penalty Taken After a Race of RRS V2 will apply.

8 SCORING

All Divisions will be scored TOD using West Florida PHRF RLC ratings.

9 PRIZES

- 9.1 Prizes will be awarded based on entries. Prizes will be awarded in each Division for first place, if 1-3 boats; top two, if 4-5 boats; top three, if 6 or more boats.
- 9.2 The Houston Wall Perpetual Trophy will be awarded to the monohull that sails the Long Course in the shortest corrected time.

10 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors in this event are participating entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race. The race organizers (organizing authority, race committee, protest committee, host club, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or injury, disease, or illness to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

DOCKAGE

For dockage at DIYC before or after the event, please contact DIYC Dockmaster Chris Toro at mailto:dockmaster@diyc.org or 813-770-9230 for slip reservations. Please be aware that DIYC follows distancing/mask guidelines and provides limited services during CV-19.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Regatta Chair: Dave German email: madcow2racing@gmail.com
Principal Race Officer: Charlie Cushing email: charliecushing@earthlink.net