

2021 Tampa Bay Hospice Cup

Davis Island Yacht Club Boat of the Year Event

Davis Island Yacht Club, Tampa, Florida April 24th, 2021

NOTICE OF RACE

Similar to the traditions of the Morgan Invasion, the Tampa Bay Hospice Cup appeals to both cruisers and racers. In addition to the traditional Morgan Invasion fleets, the regatta also features open non-Morgan fleets for PHRF, Multihulls, and a "Just-for-Fun" casual fleet. The committee also plans landside activities for supporters who'd like to be a part of the event but who don't care to race. All proceeds will benefit Tampa Bay area Hospice organizations, which offer comprehensive hospice and palliative care, caregiver education, individual and group counseling, spiritual support and many other programs to those it serves regardless of race, age, faith, diagnosis or financial circumstances.

1 RULES

- 1.1 The regatta will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing,* including Appendix V2 (post-race penalty).
- 1.2 US Sailing prescriptions to RRS 63.1 and 63.2 will not apply.
- 1.3 This is a pursuit race, with individual starting times.

2 ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 2.1 The regatta is open to all boats with a valid WFPHRF certificate, or a temporary rating assigned by the DIYC Club Measurer.
- 2.2 Expected Divisions are Spinnaker, Racer-Cruiser, Cruising, and Multihull.
- 2.3 All Morgan classes are eligible.
- 2.4 There will be a "Just For Fun" class with its own rules and sailing instructions.
- 2.5 Under West Florida PHRF rules, this is a Category 4 event for the Distance Course.
- 2.6 Cruising spinnakers are permitted for the Cruising Division. All Cruising boats intending to use a cruising spinnaker must declare so by email to fleetcaptain@divc.org at least two days prior to the event.
- 2.7 Boats may enter on-line at the Racing/Regattas page at https://www.regattanetwork.com/event/21780. Entries close at 1900 on April 23. Late entries may be accepted at the sole discretion of the Organizing Authority.

3 FEES

- 3.1 Entry: \$65.00 plus tax. Dinners are available for purchase; RSVPs at registration are appreciated.
- 3.2 Entries received after April 17th must add a late fee of \$10 plus tax.

4 SCHEDULE

<u>Friday</u>

1730-1900 Check-in

Saturday

0900 Scratch sheets available
 1030 Base start time, all classes
 After racing Awards presented individually

5 SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The sailing instructions will be available on the DIYC website, and at check-in.

6 VENUE AND COURSE

- 6.1 The racing area will be Hillsborough Bay.
- 6.2 Distance course 1 race is scheduled for all Divisions, up to 25 miles

7 PENALTY SYSTEM

- 7.1 All classes will use the Scoring Penalty of RRS 44.3.
- 7.2 The 30% Penalty Taken After a Race of RRS V2 will apply.

8 SCORING

All classes except Just For Fun will be scored TOD using West Florida PHRF RLC ratings.

9 PRIZES

Prizes will be awarded based on entries received by April 17th. Prizes will be awarded in each Division for first place, if 1-3 boats; top two, if 4-5 boats; top three, if 6 or more boats.

10 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors in this event are participating entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race. The race organizers (organizing authority, race committee, protest committee, host club, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or injury, disease, or illness to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

DOCKAGE

For dockage at DIYC before or after the event, please contact DIYC Dockmaster Chris Toro at dockmaster@diyc.org or 727-222-7561 for slip reservations.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information, please contact

Regatta Chair: Beth Owens <u>owensrbgo@me.com</u>
Hospice Committee Chair: Dave Knapp <u>drknapp@tecoenergy.com</u>
Principal Race Officer: Charlie Cushing <u>charliecushing@earthlink.net</u>