2021 TRIPLE CROWN EVENTS SUPPLEMENTAL SAILING INSTRUCTIONS (SIs)

March 16, 2021

- This Supplemental SIs supersede any previous SIs with respect to the Triple Crown Events at Lake Lanier Sailing Club (LLSC).
- 2 The Triple Crown events are the following member only regattas at LLSC.
 - 2.1 Governor's Cup
 - 2.2 Firecracker Cup
 - 2.3 Vernon Pickering Commodore's Cup
- 3 <u>Eligibility:</u> Open to all boats whose skippers are members in good standing of Lake Lanier Sailing Club
- 4 Requirements to win the Triple Crown:
 - 4.1 A skipper must place first in all three events in the same calendar year.
 - 4.2 The skipper must sail in the same Division and use the same type boat in all three events in the same calendar year.
 - 4.3 The skipper's Division had 3 boats racing in each race, at all three events.
 - 4.4 If the skipper's Division did not exist at all three events, then the skipper is ineligible to win the Triple Crown.
- 5 <u>Divisions:</u> For Triple Crown events, Divisions recognized for separate starts shall be limited the following (see definitions for more information):
 - 5.1 PHRF Sportboat⁽¹⁾
 - 5.2 PHRF Displacement⁽²⁾
 - 5.3 PHRF Non Spinnaker/Cruiser(3)
 - 5.4 Dinghy High Performance⁽⁴⁾
 - 5.5 Dinghy Portsmouth Centerboard⁽⁵⁾
 - 5.6 Sailboard⁽⁶⁾

- Minimum number for a Division: The minimum number of boats for a Division is three(3). If there are not three(3) boats, the one or two boats shall not be placed in another division. The one exception is the "PHRF Non Spinnaker/Cruiser" may be place in the "PHRF Displacement" division.
- A minimum of three(3) boats must be present in the starting area for any Division to constitute a Division start and the race to be scored.
- 8 <u>Scoring</u>: Low point scoring shall be used with all races counted, i.e. no throw outs are allowed.
- 9 <u>Scoring Handicapping</u>: PHRF Divisions shall use the PHRF Time-on-Distance method. The Dinghy & Sailboard Divisions shall use the Portsmouth system or an equivalent method.

10 Trophies:

- 10.1 Trophies will follow the award policy stated in LLSC Bylaws section 5.
- 10.2 <u>First to Finish Trophy:</u> (as stated in club bylaws) The club will award a First to Finish Trophy to those in recognized LLSC fleets with a minimum of three (3) starters who do not otherwise qualify for a trophy.

11 <u>Definitions:</u>

- (1) <u>PHRF Sportboat</u> They are characterized by historically large sail areas for a given length (especially under downwind sails), light weight construction and a heavy reliance on crew weight to counterbalance heeling forces. They usually feature lifting keels (for easy trailerability) of a modern fin and bulb design and planing hull designs. Most sport boats are self-righting as opposed to skiffs.
- (2) <u>PHRF Displacement</u> Displacement hull with a fixed keel; operating inboard/outboard engine;
- (3) <u>PHRF Non Spinnaker/Cruiser</u> Displacement hull with a fixed keel; no spinnaker; one head sail at any time, except for cutter designed sailboats; no stay sails; operating inboard/outboard engine.
- (4) <u>Dinghy High Performance</u> High-performance dinghy sailboats that can get near or exceed the velocity of the true wind include sailing catamarans and foiling sailing craft.
- (5) <u>Dinghy Portsmouth Centerboard</u> Traditional dinghy sailboats with a centerboard and designed to be trailered. May have 1, 2, or 3 hulls.
- (6) <u>Sailboard</u> A modified surfboard having a sail mounted on a mast that pivots on a ball joint, ridden while standing up