

DANA POINT YACHT CLUB NON-SPINNAKER CHAMPIONSHIPS DEED OF GIFT

Presented for Approval June 18, 2014

The DPYC Non-Spinnaker Championship Trophy hereafter referred to as the "Trophy" has been established and deeded by the Board of Directors of the Dana Point Yacht Club to acknowledge and honor the accomplishments of the boats and the crews who race in the Non-Spinnaker classes in Dana Point Harbor.

- The Trophy shall be the perpetual trophy for the Dana Point Harbor Non-Spinnaker Championship Regatta, hereafter referred to as the "Regatta," and the Trophy shall be awarded to the winner of the Regatta. The winner's name shall be engraved thereon at the Expense of the Dana Point Yacht Club.
- 2. The Trophy shall be displayed during the year at the yacht club of the winner, providing the club has a suitable trophy case for such display as determined by the Race Committee Chair of the Dana Point Yacht Club. If the winner's club does not have an acceptable trophy case, the Trophy shall be displayed at Dana Point Yacht Club. The winning boat owner and/or yacht club shall be responsible for the safekeeping of the Trophy and shall insure the Trophy against loss, theft and damage at their expense. Except during trophy presentations, the Trophy shall never be displayed in a private home or business or at any location other than the selected yacht club.
- 3. The Trophy shall be the property of the Dana Point Yacht Club, or its successor.
- The Dana Point Yacht Club shall fully maintain the Trophy. If the Trophy is damaged, lost or otherwise injured, it may be repaired or replaced at the discretion of the Board of Directors of the Dana Point Yacht Club.
- 6. The Regatta shall be held annually after the majority of the scheduled race activity in Dana Point Harbor is complete for the year (normally in late September/early October).
- 7. The Regatta shall be an invitational regatta with invitations issued to each skipper who has won a first place trophy in a non-spinnaker/cruising class race in a regatta or race that starts and finishes in the immediate Dana Point Harbor area and is sponsored by one of the Dana Point Harbor yacht clubs. The period of eligibility begins with the previous year's Non-Spinnaker Championship Regatta and concludes with the last qualifying race prior to the next Regatta.
- 8. The Regatta shall be sailed under PHRF rules with local PHRF handicap ratings and the current version of the RRS. All boats in the Regatta shall race as one class.

- 9. Since the goal of this Regatta is to recognize the skill of sailors, the qualifying skipper shall be the primary helmsman of his/her yacht throughout the Regatta except during a brief period of time requiring his/her presence elsewhere. If multiple skippers qualify by winning a race in which they were entered as "co-skippers" they may enter the Regatta as coskippers, and one of them shall be designated as the "primary" helmsman who shall satisfy the above requirement.
- 10. Each entering skipper shall race the yacht that he/she sailed to qualify for the Regatta. In the event that yacht has been sold or decommissioned, the skipper may request to race a different yacht, and the Race Committee Chair and the Regatta Chair together shall approve or disapprove such request. The decision shall be made in the interest of fairness to the competition.
- 11. The Regatta shall be comprised of 3-4 races of which 2 must be sailed to constitute a regatta. Two to Three of the races shall be windward-leeward's and one race shall be random leg. There shall be no throw-outs. Courses shall be selected to maximize the importance of helmsmanship and boat handling instead of boat speed.
- 12. Revisions to this Deed of Gift may be made by a committee commissioned by the Dana Point Yacht Club Board of Directors for that purpose. Such committee shall be composed of the sitting Dana Point Yacht Club Race Chair, two past Race Committee Chairs and one Staff Commodore of the Dana Point Yacht Club.

Approved by the Board of Directors of Dana Point Yacht Club on
Dana Point Yacht Club
Dave Griffin, Commodore, 2014