

Amended December 21, 2016

The HOWARD TRUEBA MEMORIAL TROPHY hereafter referred to as the "Trophy" was deeded from Capistrano Bay Yacht Club to the Dana Point Yacht Club on June 1, 1998. This document re-affirms the purpose and modifies the conditions for its use. This deed supersedes all others previously approved.

- 1. The purpose of this Trophy is and shall remain to honor the memory of Howard Trueba as a competitive and Corinthian yacht racer who epitomized the friendliness and spirit inherent in the yacht racing programs of the yacht clubs of Dana Point Harbor, present and past.
- 2. The Trophy shall be the perpetual trophy for the Dana Point Harbor Championship Regatta, hereafter referred to as the "Regatta," and the Trophy shall be awarded to the winner of the Regatta. The winner's name shall be engraved thereon.
- 3. The Trophy shall be displayed during the year at the yacht club of the winner, providing the club has a suitable trophy case for such display as determined by the Race Committee Chairman of the Dana Point Yacht Club. If the winner's club does not have an acceptable trophy case the Trophy shall be displayed at Dana Point Yacht Club.. Except during trophy presentations, the Trophy shall never be displayed in a private home or business or at any location other than the selected yacht club.
- 4. The Trophy shall be the property of the Dana Point Yacht Club, or its successor.
- The Dana Point Yacht Club shall fully maintain the Trophy and carry and pay for such insurance for the replacement of the Trophy. If the Trophy is damaged, lost or otherwise injured, it may be repaired or replaced at the discretion of the Board of Directors of the Dana Point Yacht Club.
- 6. The Regatta shall be held annually after the majority of the scheduled race activity in Dana Point Harbor is complete for the year (normally in October).
- 7. The Regatta shall be an invitational regatta with invitations issued to each skipper who has won a first place finish, in an unrestricted class, in a regatta or race that starts and finishes from the Dana Point Harbor area and is sponsored by one of the Dana Point Harbor yacht clubs. An unrestricted class is defined as a class racing monohull keelboats (either one-design or handicap) with no restrictions limiting the type or number of sails used to less than those allowed by generally accepted handicap or fleet rules. A PHRF non-spinnaker class is an example of a restricted class. The period of eligibility begins with the previous year's Harbor Championship Regatta and concludes with the last qualifying race prior to the Regatta.
- 8. The Regatta shall be sailed under PHRF rules with local PHRF handicap ratings. All boats in the Regatta shall race as one class.

- 9. Since the goal of this Regatta is to recognize the skill of sailors, the qualifying skipper shall be the primary helmsman of his/her yacht throughout the Regatta except during a brief period of time requiring his/her presence elsewhere. If multiple skippers qualify by winning a race in which they were entered as co-skippers, they may enter the Regatta as coskippers, and one of them shall be designated as the primary helmsman who shall satisfy the above requirement.
- 10. Each entering skipper shall race the yacht that he/she sailed to qualify for the Regatta. In the event that yacht has been sold or decommissioned, the skipper may request to race a different yacht, and the Race Committee Chairman and the Regatta Chairman together shall approve or disapprove such request. The decision shall be made in the interest of fairness to the competition.
- 11. The Regatta shall be comprised of five races, four of which shall use set marks configured as either a windward-leeward course or Olympic style course. There shall be no throwouts. At least three races must be completed to constitute the Regatta. Courses shall be selected to maximize the importance of helmsmanship and boat handling instead of boat speed.
- 12. Revisions to this Deed of Gift may be made by a committee commissioned by the Dana Point Yacht Club Board of Directors for that purpose. Such committee shall be composed of three past Race Committee Chairs and two Staff Commodores of the Dana Point Yacht Club.

Approved by the Board of Directors of DPYC 12.21.2016

Dana Point Yacht Club

Bob Perdue Commodore

