Founders Cup

The Founders Cup Trophy was donated by Ann and Rene Morris in 1992 to recognize and honor the founding members of MBYC. The Cup is awarded to the winner of each class participating in the Bay Winter Series and the winner of the designated Ocean race. MBYC membership is not a requirement for participation in these races. The perpetual trophy is to remain in the showcase except when being engraved or presented.

DEED OF GIFT FOUNDERS' CUP

Name: MBYC Founders' Cup

Purpose: The purpose of this cup is to encourage class racing in the bay of Morro Bay.

It is also to encourage ocean racing in the ocean off Morro Bay.



Venue: Competition for the cup will take place during the Winter Race Series held each race year at the Morro Bay Yacht Club. The winner of the Winter Series for each class of boat will have their names inscribed on a plate an the base of the cup

Establishment of a class:

Bay Races: A class shall be established for a boat if in any of the three winter Race Series three boats of the same class race. Ie: Three boats of the same class racing in any one of the nine races over the Winter Series will establish a class for the purposes of this cup.

Ocean Races: Ocean class is defined as any vessel considered as an ocean boat by the Rear Commodore of the MBYC. The ocean Fleet may use any rating system they deem fair. The competition for the cup by the ocean fleet will be different from the Bay Fleet. Only one race, held on a day chosen by Rear Commodore or the Ocean Fleet Captain will determine the winner of the cup. The Race must be held during the winter in safe conditions.

Display of the Cup

The cup shall remain in the trophy case of the MBYC unless it is being engraved or being presented at the annual Commodore's Ball.

We give this trophy cup to honor the Founders of the Morro Bay Yacht Club. It is to remain the property of the Morro Bay Yacht Club as long at the club exists. Should for any reason the club is disbanded, the trophy will be returned to the donors or their heirs.

We hope to see spirited racing encouraged by this cup.

Winners of the Founder's Cup

1992 Bay:		Duncan McQueen, Laser		Ocean:	Pandora Nash-Karner
		Peter Rothenbuecher, Lido	2003	Bay:	Ron Giddings, Laser
		Ocean: Sarah Bucknell			Team Jenkins, Lido
1993	Bay:	Team Lockwood			Team Nero, DS
	Ocean:	John Taylor		Ocean:	Team Ratliff, Voyager II
1994	Bay:	Don Lockwood	2004	Bay:	Team Rygh, Lido
	Ocean:	Wayne Ratliff			Team Condon, DS
1995	Bay:	Peter and Anita Rothenbuecher		Ocean:	Team May, Wizbang
	Ocean:	Lynn Davenport	2005	Bay:	Team Williams, DS
1996	Bay:	Lockwood, Lido			Team Jenkins, Lido
1997	Bay:	Lockwood, Lido		Ocean:	Team Ratliff, Voyager II
		Measures, Day Sailer	2006	Bay:	Team Williams, DS
		Dyke, Laser			Team Lockwood, Lido
	Ocean:	Dan Milligan		Ocean:	Team Monroe, Troublemaker
1998	Bay:	Tom Jenkins	2007	Bay:	Team Williams, DS
1999	Bay:	Pat & Dot Rygh, Lido			Team Rygh, Lido
		John Neiswanger, DS			Lex Budge, Laser
		Jeff Miller, Laser		Ocean:	Team Ratliff, Voyager II
2000	Bay:	Tom & Bette Jenkins, Lido	2008	Bay:	Williams/Condon, DS
		John Neiswanger, DS			Lund/Stevens, Lido
	Ocean:	Wayne Ratliff	2009	Bay:	Williams/Condon, DS
2001	Bay:	Tom Jenkins, Lido			Team Nero, Lido
		John Neiswanger, DS		Ocean:	Team Ratliff, Voyager II
		Sue Dyke, Laser	2010	Bay:	Don & Kit Lockwood, Lido
	Ocean:	Bill Alee			Team Nero, Lido
2002	Bay:	Tom Jenkins, Lido		Ocean:	Team Ratliff, Voyager II
		John Neiswanger, DS	2011	Bay:	Williams/Condon, DS
		Sue Dyke, Laser		Ocean:	Team Meisson

2012	Bay:	Smith/Paes de Barros, DS	2017	Bay:	Carlton Smith/Tom Murphy, DS
	Ocean:	Team Meissen, Guayacon		Ocean:	Team Meissen, Guayacon
2013	Bay:	Smith/Paes de Barros, DS	2018		
	Ocean:	Team Michener, Whizbang	2019	Bay:	Carlton Smith, DS
2014	Bay:	Team Smith, DS		Ocean:	Mark Hilden
	Ocean:	Lee Piatek, Beauty	2020	No Data	a
2015	Bay:	Team Smith, DS	2021	Bay:	Don Huntsinger/Brett Cross, DS
	Ocean:	John Krossa, Fear Knot			Chris Surfleet, Laser
2016	Bay:	Team Smith, DS	2022	Bay:	Carlton Smith, DS
	Ocean:	Todd & Joyce Hansen, Fioghra		Ocean:	Mark Hilden, Janina
			0000	D O -	

2023 Bay: Carlton Smith / Judi Sheesley, DS Ocean: John Wimer, Prudence