

Morro Bay Yacht Club

NOTICE OF RACE Bay Race – Spring I (Seager Trophy)

March 30, 2024 Morro Bay Yacht Club 541 Embarcadero, Morro Bay CA, 93442

1. RULES

1.1. The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in *The <u>Racing Rules</u> of Sailing*, except <u>US Sailing Prescriptions</u> to Rule 63.2 will not apply.

2. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS (SI) AND COURSES

- 2.1. The SIs will be available at MBYC day of race and transmitted via Club Alias and email
- 2.2. Information in the Sailing instructions supersedes the NOR

3. COMMUNICATION

- 3.1. Spring I (Seager Trophy) as posted on the MBYC 2024 calendar.
- 3.2. Regatta Forms and Instructions may be posted through Regatta Network
- 3.3. On the water, the race committee will make courtesy broadcasts to competitors on VHF radio channel 69

4. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 4.1. The regatta is open to all non-keel boats with a Portsmouth rating.
- 4.2. Racers shall enter using the Regatta Network event link https://www.regattanetwork.com/clubmgmt/applet-registration-form.php?regatta-id=27961.

5. CLASSES AND CLASS PENNANTS

- 5.1. More than 3 boats of a one design class may be given their own start at the discretion of the PRO
- 5.2. All boats racing under the Portsmouth handicap system will use the Arbitrary pennant with the capital letters AB

6. SCHEDULE

- 6.1. Spring I (Seager Trophy): March 30, 2024
- 6.2. (Removed)
- 6.3. Spring I racing is part of the 2024 Winter series (Seager Trophy). The series is scheduled as per the MBYC calendar. The Series is conducted as per the Seager Trophy Deed of Gift
- 6.4. The skippers meeting is scheduled for **10:30** on day of racing.
- 6.5. The scheduled time of the warning signal for the first race is **11:00**.

7. VENUE

- 7.1. The racing area will be Morro Bay Harbour
- 7.2. The starting area will be determined by the Sailing Instructions

8. SCORING

- 8.1. The Cup will be scored in accordance with the Seager Trophy Deed of Gift
- 8.2. Races will be scored using a Low Point system in accordance with 2021 2024 RRS.
- 8.3. (Removed)

9. AWARDS CELEBRATION

- 9.1. Post-race events will occur at MBYC Club House.
- 9.2. Regatta prizes will be awarded for the days results: 1st, 2nd & 3rd
- 9.3. Series results (Seager Trophy) will be awarded on the final race of the series.
- 9.4. Perpetual Trophies will be engraved and awarded at end of year ceremonies.

10. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

10.1.Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See rule 3, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta. The race organizers MBYC, race committee, protest committee, host club, sponsors, or another organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or the injury to any competitor including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. As a condition of their participation in this regatta, competitors release all claims they may have against MBYC and its officers, directors, members, committees and employees for damage to property, personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during or after the regatta. Competitors shall be responsible for damage or injury caused by their breach of The Racing Rules of Sailing or applicable governmental rules for the avoidance of collision.

11. FURTHER INFORMATION

- 11.1.Questions may be addressed to MBYC Rear Commodore: mbyc.rear@gmail.com
- 11.2. Bay Fleet Captain: David Sheesley dasheesley@gmail.com, 310-422-3348

Seager Perpetual Spring Series Trophy

This trophy was donated to the Yacht Club in 1973 by Paul Seager to replace the original Seager Perpetual Trophy which had mysteriously disappeared. The trophy is awarded to the winning skipper of the Spring Series Arbitrary Class races sailed in the bay. The winner must be a member of MBYC.

No Copy of the Original Deed of Gift Available

Winners

		Winners	
1972	Millard Martin		Team Rothenbuecher, Lido
1973	Millard Martin		Lex Budge, Laser
1974	Millard Martin	2003	Tom & Bette Jenkins
1975	Millard Martin	2004	Team Rothenbuecher, Lido
1976	Millard Martin	2005	Williams/Condon, DS
1977	Tony Maino		Team Jenkins, Lido
1978	Ed Carnegie	2006	Wiley/Nigro, DS
1979	Don Lockwood		Team Lockwood, Lido
1980	Don Lockwood		Ron Giddings, Laser
1981	Larry Salas	2007	Williams/Condon DS
1982	Carolyn Martin		Team Watson, Lido
1983	Sean O'Toole		Lex Budge Laser
1984	Terry Weir	2008	Team McClish, DS
1985	Terry Weir		Team Lockwood, Lido
1986	Don Lockwood	2009	Williams/Condon, DS
1987	Don & Kit Lockwood		Team Watson, Lido
1988	Peter Rothenbuecher		Shannon McClish, Opti
1989	Ron May	2010	Williams/Condon, DS
1990	Jim Bruzenak		Lex Budge, Laser
1991	Tom Jenkins	2011	Williams/Condon, DS
1992	Tom Jenkins	2012	Williams/Condon, DS
1993	Lex Budge	2013	Smith/Paes de Barros
1994	Peter Rothenbuecher	2014	Smith/Paes de Barros
1995	Don & Kit Lockwood	2015	Smith/Paes de Barros
1996	Ron Giddings	2016	Smith/Paes de Barros
1997	Peter Rothenbuecher	2017	Smith/Paes de Barros
1998	Pat Rygh	2018	Todd & Joyce Hansen
1999	Don & Kit Lockwood	2019	Carlton Smith
2000	Pat & Dot Rygh	2021	Carlton Smith
2001	Don & Kit Lockwood	2022	Carlton Smith
2002	Team Neiswanger, DS		

Seager Spring Series Laser Perpetual Trophy

The original Seager Spring Series trophy was retrieved from a garage sale in 1977 and rededicated. It is awarded to the Laser skipper with the fewest points in the Spring Series.

1977 Bill Bryan Sean O'Toole 1982 1986 **Matthew Sicher** 1987 Matthew Sicher 1988 Mary Dyke 1989 Lex Budge 1990 Tom Jenkins 1991 Tom Jenkins 1992 Tom Jenkins 1993 Lex Budge 1994 Lex Budge 1995 Ron Giddings 1996 Ron Giddings 1997 Steve Jorgens 1998 Ron Giddings 1999 Lex Budge 2000 Ron Giddings 2001 Lex Budge 2002 Lex Budge 2003 Lex Budge 2004 Ron Giddings 2006 Ron Giddings Lex Budge 2007 2009 Spencer Branch 2010 Lex Budge 2014 Mark Soll 2019 **Chris Surfleet**

Chris Matson

2021

