Southwestern Yacht Club / Oceanside Yacht Club Oceanside to Southwestern Yacht Race - May 30, 2010

Notice of Race

Race: The 2010 Oceanside to Southwestern Yacht Race will be administered and hosted by the Southwestern and Oceanside Yacht Clubs. Each entered yacht will receive a race packet containing the sailing instructions, entry list and other information.

Schedule: The race will start off the Oceanside Pier on Sunday, May30, 2010. The first warning signal will be made at 10:55 a.m.

Course (All Fleets): From Oceanside Pier, leave San Diego Channel Buoy SD to port. Finish off Point Loma

Rules: The race will be governed by **the 2009-2012 Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS)**, including the prescriptions of the United States Sailing Association, this Notice of Race, the Sailing Instructions, and any rules of any class entered. All Yachts must have assigned sail numbers at time of entry and must display same on the sails at the start and finish. The Scoring Penalty of RRS 44.3 shall apply. The penalty will be the number of places equal to 20% of the number of yachts entered.

Eligibility: The race is open to auxiliary sailing yachts designed and built to go offshore and having a minimum overall length of 20 feet. Minimum crew is three persons, 18 years of age or older. Each crew member shall be capable of performing tasks associated with sailboat racing. Owners or charterers must be regular members of yacht clubs affiliated with ISAF, US Sailing Association, or SCYA, unless specific written exemption is obtained from the Race Committee. Eligible yachts must file an entry on the attached form with Southwestern Yacht Club, or on line at Southwesternyc.org, no later that 5 p.m., Thursday, May 27, 2010. All participants must be pre-registered. Entry forms must be filled out completely before they will be accepted. Yachts competing in PHRF Fleets shall be those who possess a current Rating Certificate from PHRF Southern California or current Membership Certificate from PHRF San Diego. This is a PHRF San Diego Annual Championship Series Event for spinnaker and non-spinnaker classes. Only those yachts sailing under a PHRF San Diego Rating Certificate will have this race scored for the Annual Series. The race will be scored based on Arbitrary Handicaps. Area G boats will be scored using the PHRF Area G OWC rating. Boats from outside Area G will be scored using PHRF Southern California OWC rating. Entries in the Open Fleet will be assigned ratings by the Race Committee.

Open Fleet: Yachts in the Open Fleet may use a gennaker (asymmetrical spinnaker). Yachts racing in the PHRF Class 6 may not use gennakers. The rating will be based on boats using gennakers. The non-spinnaker offset will be added to yachts not using a gennaker. Yachts intending to use these sails must state their intent on their entry forms. Symmetrical spinnakers and spinnaker poles are not allowed in Open Fleet. Once assigned to a class, assignments will not be changed. The judgment of Southwestern Yacht Club and Oceanside Yacht Club in determining eligibility shall be final.

Classes: Classes may include PHRF Classes 1-6, and Open. The Race Committee may eliminate or combine starts with prior notice, depending on entries.

Safety: All yachts entered shall comply with USCG regulations as well as the 2009 equipment requirements of Category 3 as defined by PHRF of Southern California (a copy will be in the Sailing Instructions). All yachts may be inspected prior to the start or after the finish by a member of the Race Committee. Failure to respond may be grounds for disqualification.

Mooring and Facilities: Every effort will be made to assign guest slips or moorings and to notify entrants of assignments in advance of arrival. Note on your entry form your requirement for berthing at OYC on Saturday, May 29 and at SWYC on Sunday, May 30. Berthing arrangements for any other dates need to be made by the racers.

Schedule of Events:

Thursday, May 27, 5 p.m Registration deadline	Sunday, May 30, 10:55 a.m First Warning Signal
Saturday, May 29, 6 p.m Dinner at OYC	Monday, May 31, 8 a.m Breakfast, SWYC
Sunday, May 30, 7 a.m Breakfast Buffet at OYC	Monday, May 31, 11 a.m Awards Ceremony, SWYC

Race packets: All necessary race instructions will be available at Southwestern Yacht Club after 9:00 a.m., Friday, May 28, 2010 or at Oceanside Yacht Club after 5 p.m. Saturday, May 29, 2010

Trophies: Take home trophies will be awarded for each class based on the number of entries received. The following perpetual trophies will also be awarded: First PHRF (Corrected Time), First SWYC PHRF (Corrected Time), First SWHF (Corrected Time), Club Participation, Mayor of San Diego, and Mayor of Oceanside.

Information:	Race General Chairpersons	SWYC OYC	Peter Blake Bill Roush	(619) 301-2794 (760) 845-5112
	Race Entry Chair	SWYC	Carolyn Sherman	(619) 980-7245
	Race Management Chair	SWYC	Linda Blanchard	(619) 297-0117
	Office	SWYC	-	(619) 222-0438
	Office	OYC	-	(760) 722-5751

The General Race Committee Chairpersons reserve the right to accept or reject any entry or to otherwise modify any requirement on an individual basis when it is in the best interests of Southwestern Yacht Club or Oceanside Yacht Club.