

2014 Inaugural Year

George Griffith Racing Series

Save the dates now for the inaugural presentation of the George Griffith Series.

Beginning in March, the series will consist of three separate days of random leg racing with PHRF and Cruising classes. The Notice of Race will be issued soon with all the details.

March 22 Race Number 1, Afternoon Delight

April 5 Race Number 2, *Harbor Tour*, followed by Shrimp Feed Dinner May 10 Race Number 3, *Tuna Surprise* (The day before Mothercs Day)

For each event, the race committee will have course options to ensure everyone can complete their race in less than four hours. Some of the courses will have off-the-wind starts and each course will take the fleet around some of the most interesting parts of Los Angeles and Long Beach Harbors. Forget the Point Fermin Buoy – the Griffith Series is not going there. But a number of oil islands and oil platforms will be used as Griffith Series turning marks.

While the first two races of this series are straight forward random leg races, the finale - the Tuna Surprise on Saturday May 10 - will be an inverted start pursuit race with the slower-rated boats starting first. Using a reverse handicap start means that the first boat back to the Start/Finish Line will be the overall winner.



The series perpetual trophy is a full size ship wheel hand built by George in 1935, shown here with the Commodore's photo from 1972. The corrected time winner of each class will be engraved annually.

Welcome to the Party

After each of the races, there will be a grand party and awards celebration at the LAYC® clubhouse. We'll have free beer and slips available for those who want to sail up after they finish each race. Arrangements can be made for guest slips for each race by contacting LAYC. Berthing is free on the first night; advance reservations are required.

See You Here

We look forward to racers from all of Southern California participating in this inaugural year and for many years to come.

To enter or for further information, contact the club office or Bill Megowan, Race Committee chairman via email at racing@layc.org.