Antigua and Barbuda Hamptons Challenge Regatta : Peconic Bay Sailing Association

About Event

The Antigua & Barbuda Hamptons Challenge Regatta is a handicapped race using ratings provided by PHRF of Eastern Long Island.  The Organizing Authority is the Peconic Bay Sailing Association. This regatta and awards party is financed by the Antigua & Barbuda Tourism Board as a way to increase tourism and participation in Antigua Sailing Week. Captains Guide - as agent for the Antigua Barbuda Tourism Board -  will provide the following awards:

· Perpetual Cup to be engraved with the winning boat’s name

· 1st Prize Overall- for winning Captain and Crew: airfare,  charter boat for Antigua Sailing Week 2020, hotel accommodations in Antigua and registration fees to compete in Antigua Sailing Week Week (25 April – 1 May 2020) for Captain and crew of five.   

· 2nd Prize Overall- Lunch for 4 at the American Hotel, Sag Harbor

· 3rd Prize Overall- A “Mini Barrel” of English Harbour Rum 

· Smaller cup trophies for 1st, 2nd, 3rd place overall

· Glass Plaques for 1st, 2nd and 3rd Place in each division

Prizes awarded at the post race Caribbean Cocktail Party (5 - 8 pm) under a tent at Breakwater Yacht Club, Sag Harbor.Click here for party tickets

The Antigua & Barbuda Hamptons Challenge Regatta is financed by the Antigua & Barbuda Tourism Board as a way to increase tourism and participation in Antigua Sailing Week. The Awards Party will be a benefit for i-tri- a local non-profit that empowers adolescent girls through the sport of triathlon.

Learn more

News & Notices

  • Aug 09, 2019 09:44 EST

    Lima FlagSI Amendment Three Fleet Splits
    Division Three
    PHRF Non Spinnaker
        Skipper  Club  Sail#  Boat Name  Fleet / Division  Make/Model  Rating  Date Entered 
    1 Philip Walters Lloyd Harbor/ Centerport YC  43969 August Sky  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  J Boats / J35C  118 7/14/2019
    Brian Simkins
    Peter Dodge
    Peter Heffernan
    Steve Keller
    Rich Rubel 
    2 Louis Grignon Sag Harbor Yacht Club  H 375  ARBO  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Hunter / Legend 375  139 7/18/2019
    3 Greg Ames Breakwater YC  80 Seventh Heaven  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Hunter / Legend 37  143 8/6/2019
    Jennifer Ames
    4 Louis Grignon Sag harbor Yacht Club  40270 Street Fighter  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Tartan / Pride 270  158 7/26/2019
    Mike Grignon 
    5 Bill Coster PBSA  68 Silent Passage  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Tartan / Tartan 33 sloop sheel keel  177 6/25/2019
    6 Frederic Endemann PBSA  111 Windsong  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Alerion Yachts / Alerion Express 28  180 7/14/2019
    7 Ross Allonby SIYC, RCIYC  D16  Athena  PHRF Non Spinnaker /  Herreshoff / Buzzards Bay 25  202 8/6/2019
    Justin Bateman
    William Bateman
    Finlay Allonby 
    Division One
        Skipper  Club  Sail#  Boat Name  Fleet / Division  Make/Model  Rating  Date Entered 
    1 Frederick Stelle Breakwater Yacht Club  USA 630  Ace  Spin1 /  J Boat / J/121  21 7/24/2019
    Chris Dowling 
    2 Blake Marriner Windjammers Sailing Club  USA 211  MilfordSailingFoundation.Org  Spin1 /  Melges / Melges 32  24 8/5/2019
    MYC Sailing Foundation
    3 Alexander King Shelter Island Yacht Club  30010 Zora  Spin1 /  C&C / 30  46 8/7/2019
    Freddie Zorovich
    Katherine Sudol
    Freddie Zorovich
    Walter Florio
    William King 
    4 LEE OLDAK Breakwater YC  123 PURPLE HAZE  Spin1 /  SOCA BOAT WORKS / HENDERSON 30  48 7/25/2019
    5 Brian McAuliff Strongs  60651 Symbiant  Spin1 /  Hanse / 445  57 8/7/2019
    Brian McAuliff
    Ted Cremer
    6 Bud Rogers Breakwater  360 Big Boat  Spin1 /  J Boats / J109  69 7/25/2019
    7 Daniel Corcoran Lloyd Harbor Yacht Club  332 Strider  Spin1 /  J-Boats / J/109  69 8/6/2019
    Eric Francois
    James May
    Alex De Wi
    Rick Braile
    Gail Hamilton
    Glenn Reed 
    8 Daniel Montero Breakwater Yacht Club  131 Gracious  Spin1 /  J-boats / J-100  85 7/26/2019
    9 Tom wacker PBSA  478 Trading Places  Spin1 /  J / j105 sd  87 7/31/2019
    Tom Wacker
    10 Harry DiOrio SIYC  421 Bella  Spin1 /  J Boats / J/105  90 7/24/2019
    Robert ROSS
    Bastien Poix
    Marc de Ferranti
    Michael Williams
    11 Jim Ryan Chinese Yacht Club  156 JT90  Spin1 /  Melges / Melges 24  90 8/4/2019
    Division Two
        Skipper  Club  Sail#  Boat Name  Fleet / Division  Make/Model  Rating  Date Entered 
    1 Christopher DiSunno Breakwater Yacht Club  50732 Swans' Way  Spin2 /  Beneteau / 41s5wk  110 7/26/2019
    2 robert barron NYYC  ITA 349  Omakaze  Spin2 /  JBoats / J-70  117 7/15/2019
    3 Peter Carroll PBSA  944 Firefly  Spin2 /  Bashford / Etchells 22  117 7/14/2019
    Meredith Carroll
    Lindsey Carroll 
    4 Paul Kreiling PBSA  33948 Zoom!  Spin2 /  J / J27  129 7/26/2019
    5 Jody LoCascio Breakwater  24 Boogie Van  Spin2 /  Alsberg Brothers / Express 27  136 7/22/2019
    6 Bob Voelkel PBSA  2510 Shamrock  Spin2 /  J Boats / J-24  171 7/21/2019
    7 Adam Sandberg BYC  USA007  Embla  Spin2 /  Rustler / Rustler 24  267 7/24/2019

  • Aug 06, 2019 05:53 EST

    A new version of the complete  SI including two amendments has been posted. The ammendments are noted in red italIcs. 

    • The start sequence will begin at noon. 
    • The description of the penalty system has been clarified. 
    • The process for announcing a course change has been modified slightly. 
    Greg Cukor, Principal Race Officer. 

  • Aug 05, 2019 19:06 EST

    L Flag
    1. SI Amendments
      A copy of the Sailing Instructions including Ammendments is attached as a PDF.

      Please note that paragraph 1 says that in case of conflicts between the NOR and the SIs, the SIs shall govern.  The changes to paragraph 4 "Schedule of Races 10 August 2019" and to paragraph 11 "Change to Next Leg of the Course" and to paragraph 13 "Penalty System" are noted in red italics. In paragraph four first gun is changed to 1200. Paragraph eleven states that the RC may post course direction and length changes  In paragragh 13, the Appendix V penalty system has been clarified. 

    2. Party Tickets
      Don't forget to remind your crew to purchase their awards party tickets no later than 10pm on Aug 7th.  Crew tickets are just $35 in advance and include one free raffle entry to win 5 nights at the Copper & Lumber Store Hotel at the historic Nelson's Dockyard in Antigua.  After the 7th tickets are only available at the door for $55.

      Greg Cukor, Principal Race Officer
      5 August 2019

  • Aug 02, 2019 16:08 EST

     Lima Flag

     13. PENALTY SYSTEM is changed as shown in italics in order to clarify the rule.


                RRS Appendix V, Alternative Penalties will be in effect.


    The first two sentences of RRS 44.1 are changed to: ‘A boat may take a One-Turn Penalty when she may have broken one or more of the rules of Part 2 or rule 31 in an incident while racing. However, when she may have broken one or more rules of Part 2 while in the zone around a mark other than the starting mark, her penalty shall be a Two-Turns  penalty.’  


    The provisions of RRS 44.3 (Scoring Penalty) will also be in effect. The provisions of 44.3 require the offending boat to display a yellow flag from the time of the incident and to inform the race committee within one (1) minute of finishing.


    Failure of a boat to take a “turns” penalty does not preclude that competitor from taking a “yellow flag” scoring penalty under RRS 44.3. A penalty taken after the race will be subject to the provisions of rule V2 of Appendix V.


  • Apr 23, 2019 15:54

    Event site launched on Regatta Network ...

Read more

Registration on Regatta Network collects your personal information, contact numbers and email address so that we may process your registration for this event and uses cookies to give you the best user experience possible. Please review our Privacy and Cookie Policy to see how we protect and manage your submitted data. Find out more